Home > memories > On "Taking Notes"

On "Taking Notes"

I’m calling this blog Taking Notes; it describes the approach I’m taking to my writing. The title originated from a comment made by my junior high teacher, Mrs. Tocco. Discussing the importance of being involved, she told my Religion class that she thought some kids were, “taking notes for their novel about teenage behavior.” I felt like she was talking about me. Described as “the Mystery Girl,” by another of my teachers that year, I had been obsessed with observing, analyzing and memorizing everything that happened to me for as long as I could remember.

I have always had this affliction of hyperawareness. Moments in time, conversations, thoughts that most people quickly forget, seem infused with meaning to me. I hoard these memories and revisit them often, like any proud collector. My vivid recollection of the past has been both a curse and a blessing. Painful memories haunt me in perpetuity. The blessing has been the knowing without question that my life is meaningful. By observing, analyzing and remembering so much, I accumulate wisdom and can more easily put troubling situations into perspective.

Taking Notes will be the home for my remembrances and reflections. What I’m really excited about, however, is the forum for sharing them with others. Through sharing, I’m hoping to gain even greater insight. While there’ll be no novel in the pages of this blog, I expect to share some true stories, ones that I hope will intrigue others as they’ve intrigued me.

Categories: memories
  1. February 14, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Beautifully put, Chris. I’m glad you’re re-entering the blog-o-sphere. You have much to add to the conversation, and I’m looking forward to hearing your observations and insights.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

